Recipe: Shortbread Cookies

A few weeks ago I hosted a Cookie Exchange for the first time. I think traditionally a cookie exchange is a way to try new recipes and exchange the successful ones with your friends but in the end we just used it an an excuse to drink wine and stuff ourselves with some home made treats.

Shortbread Cookies

The week of the cookie exchange was a hectic one for me so I was looking for a quick easy cookie recipe to wow my friends with. I always enjoy shortbread cookies so I did a Google search to find a recipe I liked. Eventually I decided to combine a few different ones that I found online to make my own. After all, there are really only 4 main ingredients…how hard can it be?

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsalted butter (softened)
  • 3/4 cup icing sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt (maybe a little bit more)
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  1. Whip butter (I used my KitchenAid Stand Mixer with the paddle attachment) for 15 minutes. You want the butter to look light and fluffy.
  2. Add the icing sugar, salt and vanilla and keep whipping! Finally add the flour in batches. The mixture will look dry but don’t worry.
  3. Roll out the dough and cut into shapes using a cookie cutter or just cut with a knife into rectangles.
  4. Place on baking sheets lined with tin foil and poke a fork or toothpick into the cookies. Cook at 170 degrees Celsius for approximately 20 minutes or until lightly browned on the edges.

I was in a rush so I didn’t cool my dough in the fridge before baking however it is suggested. I think it makes the dough easier to handle when cutting the shapes. I tried to use as little flour as possible while cutting to keep the dough moist.

I ended up melting some semi-sweet ChipIts and dipping half of the cookie in for some extra flavour!

Everyone loved them and I thought they were absolutely melt in your mouth delicious 🙂

Enjoy!

-Ashleigh

 

