Peanut Butter Cheesecake Cups

Yesterday was national peanut butter day! And because it’s one of my favourite things ever, I made peanut butter cheesecake cups to celebrate. They are a perfectly sized treat and simple to whip together. There is also a secret and unexpected ingredient that makes them unique!

 Ok, so I’ve been trying to snack healthier lately and decided to try cottage cheese (I know, sounds gross and I’ve always assumed it was) because I’ve read over and over again that it is filling and low in calories. The brand Nordica has just introduced ‘smooth’ varieties and I have to tell you the vanilla bean flavour is delicious! The texture and flavour is also very similar to cream cheese, but only 100 calories per cup. So this got me thinking that it could be a good substitute in recipes.

What you need:

  • 1/2 cup Nordica vanilla bean smooth cottage cheese
  • 1/4 cup smooth peanut butter 
  • 1 tbls brown sugar
  • 1 dark chocolate bar
  • Shredded coconut (to garnish)
  • 6 silicone cupcake molds

Instructions:

  1. Blend cottage cheese, peanut butter, and brown sugar until smooth.
  2. Fill silicone molds with two spoonfuls of mixture.
  3. Freeze for at least one hour.
  4. Once the mixture has frozen in the molds, melt the dark chocolate using a double boiler over the stove.
  5. Pour melted chocolate on top of peanut butter mixture, sprinkle with coconut, and return to freezer.
  6. Freeze for 2+ hours, or ideally overnight before enjoying.

 
   

If you find this cottage cheese in your local grocery store give it a try and let me know what you think. I’ll be trying it in other recipes to see how it compares to other ingredients.

Cheers,

Jen

