DIY: Tassel Polaroid Garland 

Happy Sunday! This weekend I was inspired to create a fun way to display my Polaroid photos and I’d wanted to make tassel garland in neutrals for my bedroom for a while now, so I thought why not combine the two?! The finished product turned out to be really cute and a nice decoration on the wall.  

 Rather than using tissue paper like I have in the past for party decor, I used yarn for a more textured, Boho look. So that I can switch out and add more photos over time, I bought mini clothespins and spray painted them gold (the bare wood seemed a little too rustic for my liking).
   
Making the tassels did take some time, but it’s super easy and I did it while lounging on the couch watching Netflix so it wasn’t so bad.

First, using a book or even a piece of cardboard, wrap the string around the object several times (I wrapped it 35 times, but you can change this depending on how full you want the tassels to look).

  
Using scissors, cut along one edge to separate the yarn from the object you’ve wrapped it around.

   
 
Make sure that the pieces of yarn are all equal lengths, trimming the ends if necessary. Cut two, 3-inch pieces of yarn and use one to tie a tight double knot in the middle, bunching all the loose pieces of yarn together.

   
Now you can fold the yarn in half, and use the second piece of yarn to create the tassel by wrapping it around the strands about 2 inches from the top. Make sure to double knot it tightly, so that you can cut away the excess length leaving the knot tight in place.

    
  

Repeat this several times until you have as many tassels and colours as you want. 

To create the garland, I simply took a long piece of yarn and wove it through a few strands off the top knot of each tassel.

Add the clothespins wherever along the garland and as often as you like – I placed one between every three tassels, but I’ll likely add some more. Clip on some Polaroids and you’re done!

   
   
Cheers,

Jen

