Overnight Oats

This is going to be a busy week and I’m trying my hardest to eat clean and follow a meal plan, so these overnight oats are perfect to grab and go in the morning for a quick breakfast (a meal I very often skip and know I shouldn’t!).

The recipe is a version I modified from the FitGirls Guide’s 28-day jumpstart menu and I’m pleased with how they turned out! I already had all the ingredients at home except the cherries and plain Greek yogurt, so it was budget friendly as well!

  
Ingredients (per one parfait):

  • 1/3 cup whole grain oats (not the instant kind)
  • 1/3 cup dark chocolate almond milk 
  • 1 tsp ground chia seeds
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1/2 tbsp cashew butter
  • 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup diced frozen sweet cherries 

Directions:

Layer ingredients in a cup or mason jar in the order listed above to create a parfait. Cover with saran wrap and refridgerate for up to 3 days. Before eating, mix everything together with a spoon and enjoy!

  
Now that I’ve had a chance to try them, next time I think I’ll use vanilla or a fruit flavoured yogurt, I just find plain yogurt so boring and tart tasting! Once berries are back in season I will also use fresh ones on top rather than frozen cherries.

Has anyone else tried the FitGirls Guides? I’m mainly doing the meal prep aspect alongside a different workout plan so I’m curious to see how it goes!

