DIY Face Scrub

I just got back from Hawaii where the sun was incredibly powerful. In one afternoon at the beach wearing SPF 20, I still managed to get a burn on my face! Now, a few days later, my skin feels dry and tight and my forehead is peeling – not cute!!

Rather than making a trip to Shoppers Drugmart I took to the Internet to research natural ingredients to make my own face scrub at home. 

I used four simple ingredients that were readily available in my pantry and fridge and whipped something together – the result left my skin feeling fresh, soft, and rejuvenated and it smelled amazing!

 
What you need:

  • 1/2 ruby red grapefruit
  • 2 tbsp organic coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp coffee grounds
  • 4-5 tbsp sugar

Directions:

  1. Cut grapefruit in half and eat the fruit! So far, so good right? What you have left is called the pith (the skin looking part that holds the sections together). Remove the pith from the rind and throw it in a blender or food processor until pulverized.
  2. Add coconut oil and blend again.
  3. Remove the coconut oil and pith mixture from the food processor and place in a bowl.
  4. Add coffee grounds and sugar and stir until combined.

Depending on how much juice was extracted from the grapefruit pith, add more sugar to absorb it until you get the desired texture you’re looking for. I didn’t want too much liquid because I intended to leave the scrub on my face for a while to have time to absorb the oils.

  (I used Hawaiian coffee that I brought home from my trip!)  

The benefits:

Grapefruit: not only does grapefruit contain anti-oxidants that help protect skin against environment hazards (like the Sun’s harmful UV rays), but it also contains vitamin A and C, helps renew damaged skin, and fights the look of age spots (also caused by the sun).

Coconut Oil: is there anything coconut oil can’t do? This stuff is seriously amazing and I’ve been incorporating it into my life wherever possible. It benefits the skin by gently moisturizing (all skin types, even acne prone!) and contains a ton of protective antioxidants that help with premature aging. 

Coffee: as soon as I found out that coffee can help reverse the damage of UV rays I knew it would be in my scrub! It also helps reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles by increasing the production of elastin and collagen and leaves skin looking more radiant by improving blood flow.

Sugar: the tiny granules allow for gently scrubbing that is non-aggressive but still effective in removing dead skin cells.

  
I applied the scrub generously in gentle circular motions and left it on my face for 20 minutes before washing it off with a warm cloth. What was left over I’ve put in an airtight container in the fridge (I’m not sure how long it will last!).

My face feels so clean and smooth and free of dead skin and I also feel good knowing that it was done naturally and without so many of those hard-to-pronounce, unknown ingredients in drugstore products.

I’m feeling inspired now to do more research on the benefits of natural ingredients and will definitely be putting together more posts on DIY natural skin-care products so stay tuned and let me know if there’s anything you’ve tried and loved!

Cheers,

Jen

